New products

Our own label
Missing Vinyl

american dream: 1969 rundgren demos

  • Hard cardboard sleeve
  • Insert with liner notes and photos / memorabilia
  • Download Card

Local Philly legends the American Dream was a late 60s band (featuring musician / actor Nick Jameson, later of Foghat!) who were regulars at clubs like the Electric Circus and offered a cool mix of psych, hard-rock and proto-power pop. They were signed to Ampex / Bearsville Records, releasing their only album in 1970, produced by Todd Rundgren (his first production work).

Now, for the first time on vinyl and straight from the original masters, we present their previously unreleased studio demos from 1969 – also produced by Todd Rundgren – that landed the band their deal with Ampex. Music is great psych-rock with superb vocal harmonies and hard guitars.

Also included are two rare tracks from their unfinished 1970 second LP plus the killer garage-jangle classic “Big Brother”, originally recorded by pre-American Dream band The Finestuff in 1967, as a bonus.

Track Listing

    Side One:
  • Good News
  • Storm
  • Find A Reason For Being You
  • Frankford El
  • The Man
  • Side Two:
  • Fields Of Contentment
  • Future’s Folly
  • Egg Carton Wall
  • Love A Little
  • Big Brother (as The Finestuff)
Format LP
Genre Psychedelic
Status In stock
Label Guerssen

<--Back Back Home All rights reserved by
Created by J&L Creations