New products

Our own label
Missing Vinyl

eero koivistoinen with friends: jappa: the complete jazz at the polytechnicum recordings 1967-1968

  • 2nd pressing, 500 copies on black vinyl
By early 1960’s, jazz in its mainstream form had become the standard dance music for the student parties in high schools and several student union clubrooms in Helsinki. The Polytech union even organized matinée dances for high school students on Sundays. The change in the musical preference of young people’s dance music occurred with the arrival of British rock in the mid-sixties and this, of course, coincided with another cultural and musical development.

As the new campus for the school was built in Otaniemi, Espoo in 1955-1966 and its operations gradually moved there, the modern style “Dipoli” building became the crowning edifice on the campus. It was to be the new home for the Polytech student union. When this controversial building was opened in 1966, it was meant to introduce a new vision of the future and constituted an embodiment of the modernist spirit of those times in the late 1960’s.

This reissue of The Complete Jazz at the Polytechnicum recordings, done in 1967-68, also provides us with a glimpse of the modern directions of those days, not only in jazz music, but also in performance art. It is easy to hear that the main aesthetic in these performances was to break conventions and find new avenues for individual expression. The publisher of these recordings was the Jazz Society of the Tech Students, which was formed a little before these recordings. The name of the society was a take-off from Norman Granz’ Jazz at The Philharmonic and it became Jazz at the Polytechnicum. Both are, of course, abbreviated as J.A.T.P., which became formulated in musicians’ mouths into “Jappa”.

This Svart Records re-issue consists of four EP-records in chronological order. The first three feature three jazz groups of the leading young players with their ages ranging from 21 to 30. The fourth one documents an avant-garde art “happening” held in Dipoli on March 20th – 24th 1968 called “Posotusta, pimputusta, pompotusta”, which could freely be translated as “Huff ‘n’ puff ‘n’ plonk”.

Track Listing:

    Eero Koivistoinen – Jappa (1967)
  • A1 Eero Koivistoinen– Jappa 12:56
  • A2 Eero Koivistoinen– O.K. Song 5:03
  • A3 Eero Koivistoinen– Spanish Lady & Lovable Miss P. 4:42
  • Pentti Hietanen – XYZ (1968)
  • B1 Pentti Hietanen– XYZ8:44
  • B2 Pentti Hietanen– Irwin 8:34
  • Eero Koivistoinen / Pekka Pöyry – Tune In (1968)
  • C1 Pekka Pöyry– Scamp 4:50
  • C2 Eero Koivistoinen– Interruptus 4:23
  • C3 Eero Koivistoinen, Pekka Pöyry– Lorna 9:53
  • Various – Posotusta Pimputusta Pompotusta (1968)
  • D1 Tommi Parko– Oi Maamme Suomi 1:25
  • D2 Tommi Parko– Hysteriablues 1:54
  • D3 Tommi Parko– Apinan Väri 0:34
  • D4 Tommi Parko– Hän On Jumalattoman Kaunis 3:07
  • D5 Tommi Parko– Kuulokuva Emily Bronten Romaanista "Humiseva Harju" 1:46
  • D6 Tommi Parko– Mies Ja Tuoli 0:46
  • D7 Tommi Parko– Naukumablues 1:39
  • D8 Mike Koskinen– Fanfare 1:58
  • D9 Philip Donner– Political Survey 3:44
  • D10 Unto Laine– Lila 2:08
  • D11 Markku Koskenvuo, Pekka Tanskanen– Funeral Music For Jazzman 1:17
Format 2  LP
Genre Jazz
Status Preorder
Label Svart

<--Back Back Home All rights reserved by
Created by J&L Creations