New products

Our own label
Missing Vinyl

agincourt: fly away


Trading Places present a reissue of Agincourt's Fly Away, originally released in 1970. During the mid-1960s, deep in the Sussex countryside of southern England, aspiring musicians Peter Howell and John Ferdinando played in a few school bands before recording together in Howell's father's garage. Through Ferdinando's connections with a theater group, the duo created a musical companion for their production of Alice Through The Looking Glass, which the duo pressed privately; then, Fly Away, credited to Agincourt, was produced in a spare bedroom, an advertisement bringing Lee Menelaus, whose lilting voice provided a stirring female counterpart to theirs. Much of this psychedelic folk oddity has a quaint innocence fitting of the era and along with English folk-rock there are shades of pop, a touch of West Coast and even jazz in places. Pressed in minute quantity on another private press, original copies have been known to sell for £1500 or more; the duo continued recording, notably on work credited to Ithaca, before Howell became a full-time member of the BBC Radiophonic Workshop, where he notably worked on the Doctor Who theme.

Track Listing:

  • A1 When I Awoke
  • A2 Though I May Be Dreaming
  • A3 Get Together
  • A4 Joy In The Finding
  • A5 Going Home
  • A6 All My Life
  • A7 Mirabella
  • B1 Take Me There
  • B2 Lisa
  • B3 Dawn
  • B4 Barn Owl Blues
  • B5 Kind Sir
  • B6 Through The Eyes Of A Lifetime (Parts I-III)
Format LP
Genre Psychedelic
Status In stock
Label Trading Places

<--Back Back Home All rights reserved by
Created by J&L Creations