New products

Our own label
Missing Vinyl

13th floor elevators: the psychedelic sounds of


THE BIRTH OF PSYCHEDELIC ROCK RELEASED AS MID-PRICE DELUXE DOUBLE CD PACKAGE "The fearless trailblazers of psychedelia and one of the most kick-ass rock bands ever...

For two or so years they burned with a flame so fierce that 40 years on they still remain an inspiration" MOJO Featuring : Remastered Audio From 2008/09 : The Original Mono Mix : The 1966 Stereo Mix In The Band's Intended Running Order : 5 Alternate 'Cold Desk' Mixes from Bob Sullivan 'The Psychedelic Sounds of...' ground-breaking debut from 1966 lays claim to be the first psychedelic rock album and is certainly the first to use the word 'psychedelic'.

Known for founder Tommy Hall's use of the electric jug and Roky Erickson's emotive singing of Hall's poetic lyrics, the band influenced music as we know it, including material from legends such as the Rolling Stones, The Beatles, Jim Morrison and Janis Joplin.

As well as influencing a genre, the Elevators developed a culture based on mind-expansion through experimentation with psychoactive drugs in a US state that had particularly harsh laws on their recreational use, effectively making the band members psychedelic outlaws.

Following a 49-year hiatus, the cult psych band returned in 2015 for a performance at the annual psychedelic festival in their home city of Austin, Texas, which changed its name in commemoration: from Austin Psych Fest to Levitation, a song from their second album Easter Everywhere.

The event was recorded and will be released in 2019 by Charly Records in conjunction with International Artists.

This mid-price 2CD edition of 'The Psychedelic Sounds of...' is the ultimate deluxe edition of the album.

Disc 1 is the original mono audio remastered in 2008 from the original vinyl. Disc 2 is the 1966 stereo audio remastered from the original 2-track master in 2009 by Paul Drummond and Andrew Thompson at Sound Performance and features the tracks in the band's intended running order.

Also included on the second disc are 5 'cold desk' mixes made by Bob Sullivan during the band's recording session, which provides a rare glimpse of the raw recordings before the band added echo and reverb.

This edition is presented in brilliant jewel case packaging with a detailed 16-page booklet written by band expert Paul Drummond.

Track Listing:

    Original 1966 Mono LP

  • 1-1 You're Gonna Miss Me
  • 1-2 Roller Coaster
  • 1-3 Splash 1
  • 1-4 Reverberation
  • 1-5 Don't Fall Down
  • 1-6 Fire Engine
  • 1-7 Thru The Rhythm
  • 1-8 You Don't Know
  • 1-9 Kingdom Of Heaven
  • 1-10 Monkey Island
  • 1-11 Tried To Hide
  • Original 1966 Stereo Mix In The Band's Intended Running Order

  • 2-1 You Don't Know (How Young You Are)
  • 2-2 Thru The Rhythm
  • 2-3 Monkey Island
  • 2-4 Roller Coaster
  • 2-5 Fire Engine
  • 2-6 Reverberation
  • 2-7 Tried To Hide
  • 2-8 You're Gonna Miss Me
  • 2-9 Splash 1
  • 2-10 Don't Fall Down
  • 2-11 Kingdom Of Heaven (Is Within You)
  • Disc 2 Extra Material : Bob Sullivan's Original Stereo Desk Mixes

  • 2-12 Fire Engine
  • 2-13 Monkey Island
  • 2-14 Roller Coaster
  • 2-15 Thru The Rhythm
  • 2-16 Tried To Hide
Format 2  CD
Genre Psychedelic
Status Backorder
Label Charly

<--Back Back Home All rights reserved by
Created by J&L Creations