New products

Our own label
Missing Vinyl

afro blues quintet: new directions

  • LP-reissue with reproduced artwork and labels.

A mid-'60s sextet with a Latin edge, the Afro-Blues Quintet + 1 featured a vibes/sax front line and a rhythm section augmented by congas and timbales assisting the standard piano/bass/drums instrumentation. The group's albums included political and protest pieces, originals, remakes of standards like "Green Dolphin Street," religious/spiritual numbers, soul/jazz and R&B hits, plus some challenging tunes such as "3/4-5/4-7-2." Joe De Aguero on vibes and alto saxophonist/flutist Jack Fulks were the principal soloists, with pianist Bill Henderson, bassist Norm Johnson, conga player Moses Obligacion, and Michael Davis on drums and timbales completing the lineup.

Track Listing

  • A1 With A Song In My Heart 3:14
  • A2 3/4-5/4-7/2 (Liquid Landscape) 2:26
  • A3 Afro Rock 3:00
  • A4 Let My People Go 3:05
  • A5 Victims Of Change 2:40
  • B1 Mystic Mambo 3:20
  • B2 Incantations 3:20
  • B3 Freaks 2:36
  • B4 Once In A Lifetime 3:37
Format LP
Genre Jazz
Status Preorder
Label LP - US Imports

<--Back Back Home All rights reserved by
Created by J&L Creations